top of page
Entreprises de pompes funèbres en Suisse
Entreprise de pompes funèbres à Genève
Famille Murith pompes funèbres

Our history

Supporting grieving families since 1888

We have 132 years of history behind us, filled with an array of gatherings and events, all of which have made their mark on the DNA of our business, which is above all a human endeavour.

Our story started in April 1888 when, at the request of the Geneva

clergy, an agreement creating a funeral directors firm was signed.

In association with Messrs Michel Fertet and François Duparc, who were both valets, Anselme Murith, a sexton at St Joseph’s church at the time, took the helm of the business, which was established as a company on 28 April 1888. He was joined in 1913 by his sons Paul and Auguste. On 14 September 1898, Anselme was called upon to carry out the daunting task of organising the funeral procession of Her Majesty the Empress of Austria.

In 1919, Paul Murith founded A. Murith SA, a specialist firm of Funeral Directors. Under his management, the company expanded into the canton of Fribourg with his brother Auguste Murith, and Valais.

From 1960 to 1981, Henri Murith, son of Auguste, led the firm. With his training as a cabinetmaker, a workshop for the manufacture of coffins was set up. Other funeral products tailored to customers’ needs were also manufactured during this period.

Who are we ?

Enterrement SIssi L'Impératrice d'Autriche Genève
Enterrement Sissi l'impératif par Murith SA Genève

Today,Jacques, Philippe and Jean-Marcare at the helm of the company. Three brothers with the mission of preserving the identity of the company built over all these generations, whilst championing modernity in ceremonies and the use of the latest technology. Murith funeral home specializes in the personalization of civil ceremonies and/or all faiths.

With an emphasis on the human touch, we hope to be just one of the links in the chain of support, from healthcare workers to public administration, helping bereaved families.

Directeur pompes funèbres Murith SA

From 1981 to 2020, it was Mr. Jean Murith, son of Henri, who managed the company. He spearheaded the building of the current premises. This enabled the creation of chapels of rest, providing spaces for families to use for remembrance.

It also marked the introduction of embalming services to the company, thanks to Jean. The manufacture of coffins started to become unsustainable in terms of costs, so the decision was made, after more than 25 years, to import quality coffins that would meet the requirements of the families we were serving.

A service available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

 

Funeral advisors dedicated to grieving families

International transportation, 

repatriation

 

Personalised civil or religious ceremony, death notices, floral tributes, funeral procession, burial or cremation.

bottom of page

top of page
Famille Murith pompes funèbres

Notre histoire

Soutient les familles en deuil depuis 1888

132 ans d’histoire déjà, remplie de différentes rencontres et évènements, qui ont su marquer de leur empreinte l’ADN de notre Maison, humaniste avant tout.

Tout remonte en avril 1888, à la demande instante du clergé genevois, une convention créant la société des Pompes Funèbres fut signée.

Avec la collaboration de Messieurs Michel Fert et François Duparc, tous deux voituriers, Anselme Murith, alors sacristain de l’église Saint-Joseph, dirigea l’entreprise qui se constitua en société le 28 avril 1888.  Il fut secondé en 1913 par ses fils Paul et Auguste. Le 14 septembre 1898, c’est à Anselme, que revint la lourde tâche d’organiser le convoi funèbre de Sa Majesté l’Impératrice Sissi d’Autriche.

En 1919, à l’initiative de Paul Murith, la société A. MURITH SA, entreprise spéciale de Pompes Funèbres était créée. Sous sa direction, la société se développa dans les cantons de Fribourg avec son frère Auguste Murith et dans le Valais.

 

De 1960 à 1981, ce fut Monsieur Henri Murith, fils d’Auguste, qui prit la direction. Fort de sa formation d’ébéniste, un atelier vit le jour dans la fabrication des cercueils. D’autres produits funéraires plus adaptés à la demande furent également fabriqués durant cette période.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Enterrement SIssi L'Impératrice d'Autriche Genève
Enterrement Sissi l'impératif par Murith SA Genève

Aujourd’hui, ce sont Jacques, Philippe et Jean-Marc qui dirigent la société. Trois frères avec pour mission de préserver l’identité de l’entreprise construite depuis toutes ces générations, tout en favorisant l’apport de la modernité dans les cérémonies et les technologies de notre temps. C’est ainsi que la Maison Murith se spécialise dans la personnalisation de cérémonie civile et/ou de toutes confessions.

Particulièrement attachés à l’humain, nous espérons apporter une pierre à l’édification de la chaîne d’entraide qui, du personnel soignant jusqu’aux administrations, assiste les familles en deuil.

Directeur pompes funèbres Murith SA

De 1981 à 2020, ce fut Monsieur Jean Murith, fils d’Henri, qui dirigea la société. Il fut le fer de lance de la construction de l’immeuble où se trouve les locaux actuels. Des chapelles funéraires purent ainsi être créés, et ainsi valoriser les espaces de recueillement, à disposition des familles.

Ce fut également le début des soins de conservation (Thanatopraxie) dans l’entreprise, grâce à Jean. La fabrique de cercueil ne devenant plus rentable en termes de charge, il fut pris la décision depuis plus de 25 ans maintenant, d’importer des cercueils de qualités, à la mesure de l’attente des familles sollicitant nos services.

bottom of page